Jump to Navigation

Login / Register

St Cago bike polo mallets DZR bike shoes for street and bike polo Velolocuma bicycles Riding in Circles

Disc + V brake dual brake setup. Recommendations welcome.

Hello infinite collective source of wisdom,

I am going to run a V-brake on the front and a disc on the rear. Originally intended to run dual V's, but my wheel order got a little screwy so Fixcraft and Velocity hooked me up with some upgrades. Long story short, I've got a rear disc hub and figure I should maximize its potential.

Does anyone see any *legitimate* problem with running a V/Disc mash-up?

Please point me towards your favorite parts for the job. I'm new to bicycle maintenance so simpler is better. Thanks.

Simpler? Dont run the rear disc. Look at most bikes people have these days, youll see only a front brake, for a reason. Rear brakes, especially a disc, have to be messed with whenever you take off the back wheel and is it really worth it?

But hey, its your bike, do as you like. Im sure you can get it to work irregardless.

Get rad

If it was disc front, v-brake rear, I'd direct you to Nick Kruse, but this sounds.... weird...

Combination of choice: Smash + Bang

"simpler is better."
-Ninetoe

Truth.
Don't put a disc on your rear.

Yeah, strange combo.

I guess it will give you better stopping power in the wet, if that's a factor, but that's about it.

Most top players are going front disk only these days.

fwiw

220lbs
Paul Compact Love Lever
Linear Cable
Avid BB7 160mm

and it will toss me over the bars if i let it.

front disc only for the win.

lancasterpolo.com
agile for my size.

Front disc only is so weak.....................

V-brake on the front and disc on the back doesn't make sense though.